Councils and school boards sworn in across our coverage area

By Rosalind Russell – New municipal councils and school boards across our coverage area in Sudbury, Manitoulin, and the Algoma districts are hosting inaugural meetings to swear in new councillors and trustees.

The Algoma District School Board held its Inaugural Meeting on Tuesday as well as acclaiming Jennifer Sarlo as chair and Elaine Johnston elected as the new vice chair.

Espanola is the latest council to swear in its new mayor, Doug Gervais, and his new council, including incumbents Sandra Hayden and Ken Duplessis along with new councillors Angela Kelly, Aidan

Kallioinen, John Nadeau, and Gerry Massicotte.

Kelly was also sworn in as the new deputy mayor at the ceremony on Tuesday night.

Photo: ADSB’s newly elected Trustees from left to right: Debbie Shamas (North Shore), Heather Whitley (Central Algoma), Sara McCleary (Ward 4 SSM) and Nick Apostle (Ward 5 SSM).

Elaine Johnston (left) and Jennifer Sarlo (right) are Algoma District School Board’s Vice Chair and Chair, following ADSB’s Inaugural Meeting on November 15, 2022.  

Joseph Burke, Town Clerk with the Town of Espanola, swears in Doug Gervais, the new mayor of Espanola at the inaugural meeting held on Tuesday, November 15th. 

As his first order of business, Espanola’s new Mayor Doug Gervais welcomed his council and appointed Angela Kelly as Deputy Mayor. Photos by ADSB and Rosalind Russell via Zoom

This entry was posted in Local, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *