FONOM waiting for resolutions calling on electoral boundaries to remain the same

By Rosalind Russell-

The Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities expects to receive several resolutions from the 110 municipalities in Northern Ontario calling for electoral boundaries to remain the same.

FONOM president Danny Whalen says they are aware of one such resolution coming from St. Charles asking for the Federal Electoral Districts Redistribution – Ontario Commission to leave the ridings as they are.

He says the commission is recommending eliminating the Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing riding and having it absorbed between Nickel Belt and Sault Ste. Marie.

Whalen says it is not fair for the north to lose more representation in the House of Commons, which could only have a detrimental effect on the North.

He adds St. Charles is expected to submit their resolution soon with other municipalities to follow suit.

The commission has recommended the move following a nearly 25 percent loss of the population in AMK.

Photo: AMK could be eliminated. The proposed expansion would add Bruce Mines, Thessalon, Wawa, most of Huron Shores, Chapleau, Dubreuilville, Hilton, Jocelyn, Johnson, Laird, Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Plummer Additional, Prince, St. Joseph, Tarbutt, and White River, as well as Hilton Beach to the Sault Ste. Marie riding while the expanded Nickel Belt riding would include Iron Bridge, Spragge, Spanish, Blind River, Elliot Lake, east and including Sables-Spanish Rivers, Espanola, Baldwin and Nairn & Hyman Township, as well as the corridor to Manitoulin Island and include the entire Manitoulin District.  To review the details and the hearing process, visit Redistribution of Federal Electoral Districts – 2022 (

Map provided by FEBC.

This entry was posted in Local, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *