New chief of Mississauga First Nation wins election by one vote 

By Rosalind Russell – Mississauga First Nation has elected its new chief who won the seat by one vote. 

Brent Niganobe, who already served two terms as a band councillor, was declared chief garnering 101 votes and edging out runner-up Roger Daybutch.   

Outgoing Chief Bob Chiblow, who stepped into the role after former chief Reg Niganobe stepped down to assume the role of the Anishinabek Nation Grand Chief, received just 59 votes  

Officials say Niganobe grew up in his home community, graduated from Sir Sanford Fleming College with a law and justice degree and later, a bachelor’s degree in Indigenous studies from Trent University, eventually finding his niche as a youth counsellor.  

He says community consultations focusing on the Robinson Huron Treaty annuities settlement is his priority, as well as infrastructure, community safety, job growth and community-focused programming. 

He will oversee a council rounded out by three re-elected and six new councillors.   

Up to 28 candidates vied for the nine seats on council. The three incumbents are Gloria Daybutch, Peyton Pitawanakwat and Denise Boyer-Payette.  

Jubilant Sky Cada, Crystal Chiblow, Chance Counsell, Laura Mayer, Kenneth MacLeod, and Nancy Whitehead will all serve as new members. 

Mississauga First Nation has three-year terms of office, as opposed to the standard two-year terms, under its custom election code. 

This entry was posted in Local, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *