Dr. Goodall in Sudbury celebrating two achievements 

By Rosalind Russell – Laurentian University says Dr. Jackie Litzgus has been chosen as the first recipient of the Jane Goodall Research Fellowship in Conservation Biology.  

According to the release, the recognition is in honor of Dr. Litzgus’s ground-breaking work in safeguarding endangered species, particularly the reptiles facing critical challenges in Ontario. 

Dr. Litzgus has garnered numerous accolades throughout her career, including the Laurentian University Research Excellence Award and Ontario Nature’s Conservation Leadership Award.  

Currently serving as the Director of the Vale Living With Lakes Centre, she leads the Cooperative Freshwater Ecology Unit, a team dedicated to advancing freshwater ecosystem research and conservation.  

The distinction was presented personally by Dr. Jane Goodall herself, the globally renowned environmentalist during her visit in Sudbury this week for the world premiere release of her IMAX Science North Film titled “Reasons for Hope.” 

Photo: GROUP SHOT: From producers Science North, in association with the Jane Goodall Institute, distributor Cosmic Picture and film producer/director David Lickley, comes Jane Goodall – Reasons for Hope. The documentary film makes its world premiere at Science North in Sudbury, Ontario, on May 30, 2023. This inspirational production is Science North’s 7th giant screen film, the likes of which include Jane Goodall’s Wild Chimpanzees, released in 2002 to international acclaim.

In group photo from left to right: Dr. John Gunn, Cast Member

Brenda Tremblay, Co-Executive Producer and Line Producer 

Ervin Carlson, Cast Member

Dr. Johannes Fritz, Cast Member

Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE, Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute and UN Messenger of Peace 

David Lickley, Film Director and Producer 

Amin Bhatia, Film Composer

Susana B. Name, VP Founder Relations, Partnerships & Special Projects

LAURENTIAN UNIVERSITY PHOTO: Dr. John Gunn, Dr. Jackie Litzgus, Dr. Jane Goodall, Tharusha Wijewardena, Anastacia Chartrand, and Dr. Tammy Eger pictured at a gathering to celebrate Dr. Jackie Litzgus as the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Jane Goodall Research Fellowship in Conservation Biology at Laurentian University and Tharusha Wijewardena, PhD student at Laurentian University as the recipient of the Dr. Jane Goodall Scholarship.  At the same event, Anastacia Chartrand, Chair of the Laurentian University Environmental Sustainability Committee presented Dr. Goodall with a pin as a symbol of Laurentian University joining the Nature Positive Universities pledge. Photos provided by Science North and Laurentian University.

This entry was posted in Local, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *