Elliot Lake council names Miners’ Memorial inductees for 2024

By Rosalind Russell – Elliot Lake council has given its approval to the inductees who will be named to the Miners’ Memorial Wall this year.

Museum curator Amelia D’Amato says they will be inducting five individuals: Giovanni Angaran, Raymond Cameron, Roger Desilets, Leonard Horton Senior and Richard McCartney Senior.

She adds they will be formally recognized at the annual Day of Mourning Ceremony on Sunday, April 8th (10:30 am) at the Miner’s Memorial Park with families and friends in attendance.

D’Amato says the families will also talk about their loved ones as part of the ceremony.

She says The Miners’ Memorial Wall is engraved with the names of workers from Elliot Lake’s mines who have died from workplace accidents or occupational illnesses.

Elliot Lake’s Miners’ Memorial Park, located on the shores of Horne Lake, is home to the Mining Monument, the Miners’ Memorial, and the Prospectors’ Monument.

The park is dedicated to the area’s heritage and history of uranium mining.

All the monuments were designed and created by local artist Laura Brown Breetvelt.

Photo: The five inductees for this year’s Day of Mourning have been announced by Elliot Lake council. The ceremony takes place in mid-April. Photo – VISTA

This entry was posted in Local, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *